Call it escapes and flashes

-

Whitehouse Gallery

Anton Cotteleer

“Memory can change the shape of a room; it can change the color of a car. And memories can be distorted.” (Memento, 2000)

Sometimes, our memories are blurred. You think you remember something; you can picture it very clearly. Until someone comes up with another story that sounds just as credible. Was it like that after all? Did my imagination indeed play tricks on my memory?

Anton Cotteleer is working on a doctorate in the arts. Working from personal and anonymous family photos from the 1970s and 80s, he investigates how haziness - or, to put it more visually, blur - determines our perception of an image and how he might translate this into sculpture, his main discipline.

Photography enjoys a specific status in the appreciation of art. Indeed, viewers tend to think that a picture tells the truth - that it represents a true fact. In the case of Cotteleer's photo albums, this is also largely the case: the images are mostly innocent, personal memories; birthday parties or day trips that he and his loved ones look back on with pleasure. However, as he manipulates the photographs, that innocent, banal factuality disappears. By magnifying the analogue images, he selects fragments, secrets from the darkest corners of the image or actions that, once isolated, take on a more mysterious character.

“When scrutinising the scanned copies, I discover new elements, colours, suggestions and reflections. Since we are dealing with analogue images taken by amateurs, zooming in almost automatically generates an overall ‘blurriness’.” (Anton Cotteleer, An Out-of-Focus Scan, Part 1, 2021)

Due to the blurred nature of the zoomed-in fragment, the object of the photograph is barely recognisable. This creates new forms, new interpretations which Cotteleer subsequently appropriates. In the same way that our memory can sometimes present us with the most irrelevant details, or preserve the vaguest trace of a memory, the artist allows his imagination to interact with the manipulation of a personal and all too familiar snapshot.

In the first publication issued in connection with his doctoral research, An Out-of-Focus Scan Part I, Cotteleer shows how, by zooming in, cropping and enlarging, he manipulates the photos and infuses them with a new narrative potential. These are the first steps towards the creation of the sculptures that he ultimately wants to achieve. Every stage of the thinking and working process, from the enlarged photos, through the process of sketching, to reliefs in silicone and textile, and finally the realisation of the sculpture, constitutes a new manipulation and reinterpretation of the image. With every anecdote that is told, memories change; with every scan, different aspects of an image come to the fore. Every new intervention on the supposedly factual representation of a moment both questions the veracity of the medium and seeks to create a new artistic narrative.

“Blurredness stimulates the critical distance to familiar phenomena. Only when the blurred photograph becomes too abstract to stimulate the imagination of the observer, the process of active perception is broken off.” (Hilde Van Gelder en Helen Westgeest, Photography Theory in Historical Perspective, 2011)

How does the blurredness - the lack of sharpness - in Cotteleer's photographs translate into sculpture? In earlier sculptures, he used a ''soft skin''. The contours of the sculpture become softer, less sharply delineated, and therefore, in a certain sense, more human. It is precisely this that constitutes the basis of his interest in the blurred, the out-of-focus. Currently, he is also exploring the possibilities of (this) skin in photography and reliefs.

The reliefs that Cotteleer created in the frame of this research form a link between the photographs and the sculptures. The pictures - which, incidentally, can also create their own kind of skin over the years, in the form of mould or other biological or chemical reactions on the paper - usually have a smooth surface, while the reliefs can be made to have just enough texture to produce a seductive tactility.

The process of zooming in on body parts and skin quickly takes on a soft, sensual quality in the photographic images. The artist continues this in the reliefs and undoubtedly also in the sculptures, where fragments of bodies find each other. In a surreal, almost hallucinatory manner, he brings together body parts and objects, which fuse together in a sculptural manner. The question where this path leads to forms the impetus of the exhibition, and the continuation of his research.

Cotteleer recently started working in bronze, after discovering the material’s surprising properties during a workshop in China. There is also a great deal of sensuality in his bronzes: although there are no recognizable limbs, a certain formal, physical movement is enhanced by the shine and reflection of the material. Where in his other sculptures there is some innocence, due to the matte layer of fibers or the lighter colours, in the bronze he explores a more serious and charged plasticity.

Greet Van Autgaerden

“Why else this passion to immortalize the world in its changing faces, why the concern for the most deceptive rendering of every fleeting impression, than to keep the things that threatened to escape within reach of man?”
(Ton Lemaire, Filosofie van het landschap, 1970)*

Landscape is one of the most important art historical genres. From decor to symbolic representation of a feeling, over light-hearted and relaxed to violent and sublime; from panoramic views to flower still lifes: nature is omnipresent in art. Greet Van Autgaerden is not a landscape painter in a traditional interpretation of the word. The landscape is the basis for her works, which follow a long process from perception, over imagination, memory and paint, to the painted image. She mainly finds inspiration in the natural environment of her studio. Trees always play a leading role, with their species-related and individual qualities and branches.

Van Autgaerden's paintings are characterized by a dialogue between figurative – recognizable – landscape elements and abstract forms, often quasi-geometric surfaces in pure, bright colours. Both terms are relative in this case: her rendition of a tree can be figurative in the sense that the specific species is identifiable, but at the same time she works with expressive colors and brushstrokes, making it anything but a realistic representation. However, truthful in the sense that she paints what she sees herself. Through the more abstract elements and areas of colour of this new series, 'human-like' figures creep in for the first time, faceless and with their full energy directed towards the landscape. Here, too, there is no question of a degree of realism; rather, the artist relies on the human tendency to see anthropomorphic features and to be guided by a collective pareidolia.

“So I may cautiously conclude that indeed every landscape contains something of nature as well as something human.” (Ton Lemaire, Filosofie van het landschap, 1970)*

In essence, Van Autgaerden's oeuvre explores perception itself. We, as humans, look at the landscape: what do we see? As an artist she tries to transfer her own perception and insights to the canvas. And within the realization that a ‘real’ image, in principle, does not exist: everyone sees something different, both in the landscape and in the artwork. The highly personal brushstrokes and visual language, in an accessible perspective, enable the viewer to move into the ‘life-size’ painted landscape.

Van Autgaerden derives the title for her series Visions fugitivies from the twenty piano pieces by Sergei Prokofiev. On the one hand, the title is about a flight, away from reality. The natural landscape is a typical escape from our daily, busy existence, from obligations and worries; it is a place that offers time, perspective and space. In a sense, painting is also a necessary escape for the artist; diving into work involves certain difficulties, but may exclude others.

On the other hand, we can also associate the title with the transience of a thought and an image. The human figures that appear in the works enter into a relationship with the landscape to give their thoughts free rein. In nature, a space is created for reflection. That is the case for Van Autgaerden – after all, that's where she gets her unrelenting inspiration – and for most characters who, from Romanticism to the present, figure in the pastoral or sublime landscape. Those thoughts, heavy or light, however, are not the subject of the work. Rather, the landscape and its changeability bear within itself the ephemerality of human reflection. Moreover, there is also an artistic ephemerality: Van Autgaerden perceives an image, wants to preserve it and then reconstruct it in the canvas. Extracting a perceived image – ‘correct’, but rather: true to her personal perception – from the canvas is a constant struggle with paint and form. The image keeps escaping: only in fleeting moments does it show itself, allowing the artist to gradually reveal it further.

Tamara Beheydt

Groot Park 2
3360 Lovenjoel
Visiting hours
Fri-Sat-Sun 2-6 PM

Call it escapes and flashes

-

Anton Cotteleer

“Memory can change the shape of a room; it can change the color of a car. And memories can be distorted.” (Memento, 2000)
« La mémoire peut changer la forme d’une pièce ; elle peut changer la couleur d’une voiture. Et les souvenirs peuvent être déformés. » (Memento, 2000)

Souvent, les souvenirs sont flous. Vous pensez vous souvenir de quelque chose, vous le voyez très clairement devant vous. Jusqu’à ce que quelqu’un arrive avec une histoire différente qui semble tout aussi crédible. Était-ce vraiment ainsi ? L’imagination a-t-elle encore trahi la mémoire ?
Pour son doctorat en Arts, Anton Cotteleer a travaillé à partir de photographies de famille personnelles ou anonymes des années 1970 et 1980. Il a étudié comment ce flou – ou plus visuellement dit : ce brouillard – détermine notre perception d’une image et comment il pourrait la traduire en sculpture, sa discipline principale.

Dans les appréciations que l’on porte sur l’art, la photographie jouit d’une aura particulière. Le public a tendance à penser qu’une photo reflète la vérité – qu’elle représente un fait réel. Et, dans le cas des albums photos de Cotteleer, c’est en grande partie le cas : les images sont pour la plupart des souvenirs innocents et privés, fêtes d'anniversaire ou excursions dont lui et ses proches se souviennent avec plaisir.
Mais lorsqu'il manipule ces photos, cette contingence innocente et banale disparait. En zoomant sur les images analogiques, Cotteler sélectionne des fragments, des détails secrets tirés des coins les plus sombres de l’image ou des gestes qui, une fois isolés, prennent un caractère mystérieux.

“When scrutinising the scanned copies, I discover new elements, colours, suggestions and reflections. Since we are dealing with analogue images taken by amateurs, zooming in almost automatically generates an overall ‘blurriness’.” (Anton Cotteleer, An Out-of-Focus Scan, Part 1, 2021)
« En scrutant les copies numérisées, je découvre de nouveaux éléments, couleurs, suggestions et reflets. Dans la mesure où il s’agit d’images prises par des amateurs, l’agrandissement génère presque automatiquement un « flou » général. (Anton Cotteleer, An Out-of-Focus Scan, Part 1, 2021)

Le flou généré par l’aggrandissement rend à peine reconnaissable l’objet de la photo. Il en surgit alors de nouvelles formes, de nouvelles interprétations que Cotteleer fait siennes. Comme notre mémoire qui ne retient parfois que les détails les plus insignifiants ou ne conserve qu’une vague trace d’un souvenir, ainsi l’artiste laisse son imagination manipuler l’instantané personnel mais par trop familier.

Dans la première publication liée à ses recherches doctorales, An Out-of-Focus Scan Part I, Cotteleer a décrit comment en zoomant, en recadrant et en agrandissant il retravaille les photos pour leur donner un nouveau potentiel narratif. Cela constitue les premiers pas vers les sculptures auxquelles il veut aboutir en définitive. Chaque étape du processus de pensée et d’exécution, des agrandissements des photos en passant par les croquis et les reliefs en silicone et textiles, jusqu’à la sculpture elle-même, est une nouvelle manipulation et réinterprétation de l’image.
Avec chaque anecdote racontée le souvenir se modifie, avec chaque numérisation surgissent d’autres aspects d’une image. Car, non seulement chaque nouvelle intervention sur cette soi-disante représentation d’un moment remet en question la vérité prétée au médium, mais également elle tend vers la création d’un nouveau récit artistique.

“Blurredness stimulates the critical distance to familiar phenomena. Only when the blurred photograph becomes too abstract to stimulate the imagination of the observer, the process of active perception is broken off.” (Hilde Van Gelder en Helen Westgeest, Photography Theory in Historical Perspective, 2011)
« Le flou stimule la distance critique par rapport aux phénomènes familiers. Ce n’est que lorsque la brumeuse photographie devient trop abstraite pour stimuler l’imagination de l’observateur que le processus d’une perception active est interrompu. » (Hilde Van Gelder en Helen Westgeest, Photography Theory in Historical Perspective, 2011)

Comment traduire ce flou – ce défaut de netteté – des photos de Cotteleer dans une sculpture ? Dans ces œuvres précédentes, il travaillait avec une « peau douce » (een ‘zachte huid’). Les contours de la sculpture deviennent plus doux, moins étroitement délimités, et donc dans un certain sens plus humains. Là réside les bases de son intérêt pour le flou, le brumeux. Aujourd'hui, il poursuit l’étude des possibilités de (cette) « peau » dans la photographie et les reliefs. Ces reliefs que Cotteleer a imaginés dans le cadre de cette recherche forment un pont entre les photos et les sculptures. Les photos – qui peuvent également produire leur propre type de peau au cours des années sous la forme de moisissures ou de réactions biologiques ou chimiques du papier – ont généralement une surface lisse mais les reliefs peuvent fournir une structure suffisante pour générer une séduisante tactilité.

L’agrandissement de parties du corps et de la peau confère aux images photographiques une certaine douceur et une certaine sensualité. Et c’est bien ce que l’artiste vise dans ses reliefs et sans aucun doute aussi dans ses sculptures où se retrouveront les lambeaux de corps. D’une manière surréaliste, presque hallucinatoire, il y rassemble ces morceaux de chair et des objets dans une fusion sculpturale.

Cotteleer a récemment commencé à travailler le bronze, matériau dont il a découvert les surprenantes propriétés lors d’un atelier en Chine. Ses bronzes possèdent également une grande sensualité : bien qu’il n’y ait pas de membres reconnaissables, on y perçoit un mouvement formel, physique renforcé par l’éclat et le reflet de la matière. Là où dans ses autres sculptures règne encore une certaine innocence, à travers la couche de fibres ou les couleurs plus claires, dans ses bronzes, il explore une plasticité plus sérieuse et chargée.

Greet Van Autgaerden

« Pourquoi cette passion d’immortaliser le monde dans toutes les variations de ses visages, pourquoi ce souci d’un rendu possiblement trompeur de chaque impression fugitive, si ce n’est pour maintenir à la portée de l’homme ce qui menace de lui échapper ? »
(Ton Lemaire, Filosofie van het landschap, 1970, traduction Isabelle Pouget)

Le paysage est un des sujets les plus incontestés de l’histoire de l’art. Du simple décor à la représentation symbolique d’un sentiment joyeux et frivole ou violent et sublime ; des perspectives les plus somptueuses aux natures mortes aux bouquets, la nature est omniprésente dans l’art. Mais Greet Van Autgaerden n’est pas un peintre paysagiste dans le sens traditionnel du mot. Le paysage n’est que le point de départ d’un travail qui passe par un long processus allant de la perception à l’image peinte par le biais de l’imaginaire, de la mémoire et de la couleur. L’artiste puise son inspiration principalement dans l’environnement naturel de son atelier. Les arbres, avec toutes leurs qualités et leurs ramifications spécifiques et singulières, y jouent toujours un rôle de premier plan.

Les peintures de Van Autgaerden se singularisent par leur dialogue entre des éléments de paysage figuratifs – reconnaissables – et des formes abstraites, surfaces souvent quasi géométriques aux couleurs pures et lumineuses. Deux termes à relativiser cependant : son interprétation d’un arbre peut être figurative dans le sens où l’espèce spécifique de l’arbre est identifiable, tout en étant une représentation non réaliste par ses couleurs et ses coups de pinceau très expressifs. Une représentation cependant toujours juste car l’artiste ne peint que ce qu’elle voit. Dans sa nouvelle série, des figures « humaines » se glissent pour la première fois au milieu des éléments et des zones de couleur plus abstraites, silhouettes sans visage dont toute l’énergie est tournée vers le paysage. Là encore, il ne s’agit nullement de réalisme à quelque degré que ce soit ; l’artiste s’appuie plutôt sur une tendance naturelle de l’homme à voir des formes anthropomorphes et à se laisser aller à une paréidolie collective.

“Zo mag ik dan voorzichtig concluderen dat inderdaad elk landschap zowel iets van de natuur als van de mens bevat.” (Ton Lemaire, Filosofie van het landschap, 1970)
« Je peux donc conclure, avec prudence, qu’en effet chaque paysage contient quelque chose de la nature et de l’homme. » (Ton Lemaire, Filosofie van het landschap, 1970)

L’œuvre de Van Autgaerdens explore essentiellement la perception elle-même. Quand un homme regarde un paysage, que voit-il ? Van Autgaerdens tente en tant qu’artiste de transférer sa propre perception et ses idées sur la toile. Avec la conscience que la vérité d’une image n’existe pas par principe : chacun voit autre chose dans un paysage comme dans une œuvre d’art. Ses touches de couleur et son langage visuel très personnels permettent au spectateur de déambuler facilement dans ce paysage peint « grandeur nature ».
L’artiste emprunte le titre de sa série Visions fugitives aux Vingt pièces pour piano de Sergueï Prokofiev. D’une part, ce titre nous éloigne loin de toute réalité. Le paysage naturel permet de s’évader du quotidien surchargé, des obligations et des soucis ; un lieu qui offre temps, perspective et espace. Et dans ce sens, la peinture est aussi une évasion nécessaire à l’artiste ; plonger dans ce travail n’est pas sans difficulté, mais il permet d’exclure d’autres obstacles.

D’autre part, on peut également l’associer à l’idée de fugacité de la pensée et de l’image. Si les figures humaines que nous voyons apparaitre dans les œuvres arpentent le paysage c’est pour laisser libre cours au flux de leur pensée. Dans la nature, l’espace laisse place à la réflexion. C’est le cas pour Van Autgaerden – c’est après tout là qu'elle puise son infatigable inspiration – et pour ces innombrables personnages qui, du romantisme à nos jours, hantent les paysages bucoliques ou sublimes. Sombres ou légères, ces pensées ne sont cependant pas le sujet de l’œuvre. Au contraire, par sa mobilité, le paysage est à l’image de l’impermanence de la réflexion humaine. Tout comme il y a une volatilité artistique. Van Autgaerden saisit une image et tente de la sauvegarder pour la recomposer à nouveau sur la toile. Faire surgir de la toile cette image – « correcte » sans doute mais disons plus justement « fidèle à sa perception personnelle » – implique une lutte constante avec la peinture et la forme. Car l’image ne cesse de s’échapper : elle ne se montre que par fugaces intermittences que l’artiste doit saisir pour la révéler progressivement.

Tamara Beheydt

Groot Park 2, 3360 Lovenjoel
art@whitehousegallery.be
+32 473 391 478
Heures de visite
Ven-Sam-Dim 14h-18h
et sur rendez-vous