Paper Show

Vernissage
January 16, 3 - 7 pm

PAPER SHOW

Paper is a material upon which to write, draw and even print. But these are by no means its only applications within the visual arts. For this exhibition, the Whitehouse Gallery brings together eight artists who make extensive use of paper within their practice. When the Art on Paper fair opened this autumn at BOZAR in Brussels, its purpose was questioned. Should it focus exclusively on drawing or call for greater attention to be paid to paper’s broader role within the art world? Welcome to The Paper Show, an exhibition of works on paper, a time-honoured, faithful friend that today intersects and influences the creative processes of many contemporary artists in numerous ways.

Stefan Serneels (b. 1968, Antwerp) uses paper as a classic support for his drawings. It invites him to translate his creative mental state into material annotations in a wholly spontaneous and uninhibited way. In addition, and just like making a comic strip, paper allows him to create a sequel quickly and easily or bring different drawings together. Serneels draws both realistic figures and interior perspectives which he often goes on to distort and reconstruct in a different form or format, whereby the paper becomes a flexible support made up of multiple layers. Due to paper’s lack of material status in relation to canvas, for example, his drawings exude an unforced honesty and directness.

We also detect a constructivist approach to the image on paper in the work of Dieuwke Spaans (b. 1973, Rheden, NL). Instead of inventing images, she constructs them exclusively from existing visual material. Dieuwke Spaans cuts, pastes and rearranges these pictures and places them in a fresh context. Unlike drawing, which often results in an abstract interpretation of a three-dimensional world, Spaans prefers to manipulate existing photos and pages in order to build up a subjective representation of reality in multiple layers. What is exceptional about her work is the abundance of references and symbols that can be read upon closer inspection. The loaded nature of Spaans’ collages is augmented by the visible traces of time on the paper and the exposed, hand-made tears that reveal the creative process.

In the work of Haleh Redjaian (b. 1971, Frankfurt, DE), the human hand appears to be almost absent. Thanks to Redjaian’s thoroughly mathematical drawing style, a certain distance from the image is created. Yet austere pencil lines and detailed embroidery reveal the artisanal process behind Redjaian’s artistic practice. The time-consuming nature of the carefully constructed line drawings, or the addition of costly elements including gold thread or gold leaf, lend the paper – here always the support for an abstract representation – an exceptionally expensive aura.

Although Heide Hinrichs (b. 1976, Oldenburg, DE) predominately focuses on making installations and sculptures, she also creates works on and with paper. She is intrigued by the immense potential of this seemingly simple material, which is at once both accessible and organic. Above all, Hinrichs finds an artistic value in the functional characteristics of specific sorts of papers, as opposed to other types of material. For example, she often opts for Asian paper because of its absorbent properties. By adding water, for example, she can soak the paper, recycle it and knead it to a pulp which can then serve as the basis for sculptures in papier-maché.

The ink drawings that can be seen in this exhibition also respond to this same absorbent characteristic. By rendering sections of the porous mulberry tree paper impermeable through the application of a layer of wax, an ink drawing is created which portrays both a visual interplay and the field of tension between the ink and the paper, only part of which serves as a support here.

Within the artistic practice of Lieven De Boeck (b. 1971), the paper acts as a mould for an imaginative sculpture. The act of cutting out pieces of the paper imbues it with life and affords it value. The presence of the paper only becomes visible by allowing it to exist in combination with the excised voids.

Especially for this exhibition, the work White Flags (2014) will be partially re-exhibited. The installation comprises 192 flags made from layers of onion skin paper, one for each member state of the United Nations. By superimposing cut-out symbols and figures, and substituting layers of paper for the different colours, the artist constructs images that resemble the actual flags of the member states. Due to the lack of colour, they can be read as white flags, the symbol of surrender and negotiation as stipulated in the Geneva Convention.

Maria Kley’s (b. 1981, Tokyo, JP) artistic practice features a broad and experimental spectrum of techniques and media, with paper predominately serving as a medium for sculptural work. Since it was first invented, paper in the form of a letter has provided a mechanism for the exchange of feelings, emotions and formal details, amongst other things. Kley values the fragile and transient qualities of paper and the fact that it is (and remains) sensitive to touch. It can therefore also be seen as a support for traces of time, memory and history. Her works are thus materialisations and accumulations of verbal and non-verbal communication, as is the case with this new series Tax (2021). These works consist of the personal, Dutch tax envelopes that Kley has collected over a 15-year period. She regards the tax letter as one of the most negatively charged paper objects, comparing it to “a weapon that falls onto your doormat”. Although she finds its colour enigmatic and beautiful, the receipt of the envelope goes hand in hand with stress and mistrust. Referring to the efforts that she has herself made as a self-employed artist, these works echo the tension in the relationship between the citizen and the tax authorities and the recent scandals in the Netherlands.

Works on paper by Hadassah Emmerich (b. 1974, Heerlen, NL) have an autonomous nature, but above all else, they play a linking role in her practice, which primarily consists of murals and paintings. Her way of working on paper is also closely connected to painting. She uses robust paper as a support that can be stretched and can withstand several layers of ink and oils.

The works on paper exhibited here are atypical in this sense, because they are pages from a photo album that Emmerich has subsequently painted with oils. She sees the flowers in the original photo as a common thread, an image to which she can respond via colour and form. Just as with her murals and paintings on canvas, she uses a roller or small stencils to make direct gestures onto the support, in this case the satin smooth paper that sometimes shines through the paint.

Marianne Borremans (b. 1995, Malle) is an artist who focuses entirely on paper as an artistic medium. She makes both drawings and collages that sometimes form the catalyst for spatial installations and large-scale site-specific works on paper. To do this, she starts from a physical and digital image archive that she has built up herself and continues to augment with all kinds of paper and packaging material that she collects in her daily life. By assembling, colouring, or rescaling recycled papers, Borremans’ personal relationship to a still firmly entrenched throwaway culture translates into a visual quest for abstract compositions that are articulated in line, form and colour.

Louise Goegebeur, December 2021.

Groot Park 2
3360 Lovenjoel
Visiting hours
Fri-Sat-Sun 2-6 PM

Paper Show

Vernissage
January 16, 3 - 7 pm

PAPER SHOW

Le papier est un matériau traditionnellement destiné à l’écriture, au dessin et à l’impression. Mais dans les arts plastiques, ce ne sont plus les seules applications. Après la foire Art on Paper de l’automne 2021 à Bozar à Bruxelles, la question de l’objectif de cette foire a surgi. Ce type d’évènement doit-il se concentrer sur le pur dessin ou promouvoir toutes les possibilités du papier dans la pratique artistique ? La Whitehouse Gallery propose une première réponse en réunissant, dans une nouvelle exposition, huit artistes chez qui le papier joue un rôle central. Bienvenue donc au Paper Show, une exposition d’œuvres sur papier, cet ami fidèle et séculaire qui croise et influence aujourd'hui de multiples façons les processus de création artistique de nombreux artistes contemporains.

Stefan Serneels (°1968, Anvers) utilise le papier comme un support classique de dessin. Cette pratique lui permet de traduire spontanément et sans inhibition un état mental de créativité en signes matériels. Le papier lui permet également de former des suites, comme dans une bande dessinée, en rassemblant des dessins différents sans aucune préméditation. Serneels dessine aussi bien des personnages réalistes que des perspectives d’intérieurs qu'il déforme et reconstruit souvent sous une forme ou un format autre, faisant du papier le support docile de plusieurs strates. Par leur absence d’un statut comme celui que nous attribuerions à une toile par exemple, ses œuvres sur papier irradient spontanément une probité et une franchise naturelles.

Dieuwke Spaans (°1973, Rheden, NL) développe également une approche constructiviste. Elle ne crée pas directement une image, mais travaille avec du matériel visuel existant pour reconstituer une image. Dieuwke Spaans coupe, colle et réarrange des images existantes et les transplante dans un nouveau contexte. Contrairement au dessin, qui implique souvent de faire abstraction d’un monde tridimensionnel, Spaans préfère manipuler des photographies et des pages imprimées afin de construire, par couches successives, une représentation subjective d’une réalité. Néanmoins, cette multitude de références et de symboles n’empêche pas une lecture précise de ses œuvres, ce qui rend son travail très particulier. Le caractère baroque des collages est intensifié par les traces manifestes du temps dont témoigne le papier, et la vue de déchirures manuelles visibles dans les collages.

À l’inverse, la main humaine pourrait sembler absente du travail de Haleh Redjaian (°1971, Francfort, DE). Le style de dessin géométrique très minutieux de Redjaian suscite une certaine mise à distance face à l’œuvre. Cependant, les sobres lignes de crayon et les méticuleuses broderies trahissent le procédé artisanal de sa pratique artistique. Par le caractère chronophage de ces dessins aux traits minutieusement tracés et l’ajout d’éléments raffinés tels que le fil ou la feuille d’or, le papier, toujours support d’une représentation abstraite, acquiert une apparence exceptionnellement précieuse.

Bien que plus particulièrement focalisée sur la réalisation d’installations et de sculptures, Heide Hinrichs (°1976, Oldenburg, DE) crée également des œuvres sur et avec du papier. Cette matière accessible et organique d’apparence si simple l’intrigue par ses riches possibilités. Hinrichs attribue notamment une grande valeur artistique aux propriétés fonctionnelles de certains papiers spécifiques par rapport à un autre support. Ainsi choisit-elle souvent le papier asiatique en raison de sa qualité d’absorption. En ajoutant de l’eau, elle peut le tremper, le recycler et le pétrir en pâte, le transformant à son tour en matière de sculptures en papier mâché.
Les dessins à l’encre jouent également sur cette même propriété d’absorption. En rendant imperméables, à l’aide d’une couche de cire, certaines parties de feuilles de papier mûrier poreux, elle crée un dessin qui, en plus d’un jeu visuel, met en scène la tension entre l’encre et la feuille qui n’est plus que le support partiel du dessin.

Dans la pratique artistique de Lieven De Boeck (°1971, BE), le papier sert de révélateur à des sculptures imaginaires. Par le découpage, la sculpture prend vie et sens. La présence du papier n’est visible que parce qu’elle l’autorise à exister dans le vide laissé par la découpe.
Aux côtés de ces papiers-sculptures, est présentée, spécialement pour cette exposition, une partie de White Flags, œuvre créée en 2014. Celle-ci consiste en 192 drapeaux des États membres des Nations Unies faits de minces couches de papier peau d’oignon, disposées en autant de strates que de couleurs. Emblèmes et figures sont disposées de façon à créer le motif d’un drapeau spécifique qui évoque l’image du drapeau réel. Mais l’absence de couleur peut également les faire apparaitre comme des drapeaux blancs, symboles de reddition et de négociation comme le rappelle la Convention de Genève.

Maria Kley (°1981, Tokyo, JP) expérimente un large spectre de techniques et de médias où le papier sert principalement de ressource pour son travail sculptural. Depuis son apparition, le papier, en tant que support de communication, a été un outil de partage de sentiments, d’émotions, de connaissances et de données formelles notamment. Pour l’artiste, le papier est d’autant plus précieux que, par son caractère fragile et précaire, il est et reste sensible au contact et peut ainsi conserver les traces du temps, de la mémoire et de l’histoire. Les œuvres de Kley deviennent donc des matérialisations et des amoncellements de communications verbales et non verbales, comme c’est le cas de cette nouvelle série Tax (2021). Celle-ci se compose d’enveloppes fiscales néerlandaises personnelles que Kley a collectées pendant 15 ans. Elle considère la lettre d’impôts comme l’un des objets en papier les plus chargés négativement, « comme une arme qui tombe sur le pas de ta porte ». Bien qu’elle trouve la couleur énigmatiquement belle, la réception de l’enveloppe génère stress et méfiance. Se référant à ses propres efforts déployés en tant qu’indépendante, l’œuvre fait écho aux tensions existantes dans la relation entre citoyens et autorités fiscales ainsi qu’aux récents scandales aux Pays-Bas.

Pour Hadassah Emmerich (°1974, Heerlen, NL), le papier est tout autant une matière autonome qu’un outil connecté à une pratique principalement consacrée à la peinture murale et sur toile. Sa façon de travailler sur papier est donc étroitement liée à la peinture. Ainsi utilise-t-elle un papier épais qui peut être tendu et recevoir plusieurs couches d’encre et de peinture à l’huile.
Les œuvres sur papier exposées ici sont cependant atypiques dans son travail, en ce sens que ce sont des pages d’un livre photo qu’Emmerich a ensuite repris à la peinture à l’huile. Les fleurs originales des photos lui servent de fil conducteur auquel réagissent ses couleurs et ses formes. Comme pour ses peintures murales et sur toile, ce sont des gestes spontanés qu’elle applique, avec un rouleau ou à l’aide de petits pochoirs, sur le papier lisse satiné qui brille parfois sous la peinture.

Marianne Borremans (°1995, Malle) est une artiste qui se concentre entièrement au papier. Elle réalise aussi bien des dessins que des collages qui lui servent parfois de point d’appui pour des installations spatiales ultérieures et pour des œuvres sur papier in situ à grande échelle. Elle part alors d’une archive d’images physiques et numériques qu’elle a elle-même constituée et qu’elle continue d’enrichir de toutes sortes de papiers et de matériaux d’emballage collectés dans sa vie quotidienne. En assemblant, en colorant ou en retravaillant ces papiers recyclés, Borremans traduit sa relation personnelle à une culture du jetable encore fortement établie, par une recherche plastique dans des compositions abstraites exprimées en lignes, formes et couleurs.

Louise Goegebeur, december 2021.

Groot Park 2
3360 Lovenjoel
Heures de visite
Ven-Sam-Dim 14h-18h