The tables turned

-

“And hark! how blithe the throstle sings!
He, too, is no mean preacher:
Come forth into the light of things,
Let Nature be your teacher.

She has a world of ready wealth,
Our minds and hearts to bless—
Spontaneous wisdom breathed by health,
Truth breathed by cheerfulness.”

William Wordsworth, extrait de The Tables Turned -

The Tables Turned, la nouvelle exposition en duo à la Whitehouse Gallery, réfléchit à l'idée d'une métamorphose continue de l'état des choses. Le titre fait référence à un poème éponyme de William Wordsworth, dans lequel le poète glorifie la nature comme son seul maître. L'exposition rassemble des œuvres récentes de Simona Mihaela Stoia et de Jot Fau et témoigne de la manière dont les deux artistes intègrent l'idée de transformation constante dans leur travail, mais s'inspirent également de la nature.

Simona Mihaela Stoia (°1982) s'inspire de toutes sortes de choses. Une émotion, une couleur, une forme ou une promenade dans les bois stimulent l'émergence d'une idée dans sa tête. Pour nourrir, préserver et façonner cette idée, Stoia recherche des images et des figures qui lui correspondent. Elle traduit librement ce sentiment dans ses peintures, dont Stoia expose une sélection à la Whitehouse Gallery. Ses œuvres sont caractérisées par une texture presque sculpturale. Stoia y parvient de différentes manières. Elle manipule délibérément sa peinture à l'huile en laissant les tubes ouverts et en les laissant sécher. Cela donne à la peinture une structure plus épaisse. Stoia construit ses toiles couche par couche. Des couches minces, presque transparentes, alternent avec des coups de pinceau épais, réfléchis ou spontanés. Le spectateur rencontre la même variété dans l'utilisation des couleurs par Stoia. Bien que ses tableaux baignent dans une sphère de couleur dominante, au premier coup d'œil, ils se décomposent en nuances de couleurs harmonieuses. Il en résulte des peintures complexes dont les surfaces semblent être en mouvement constant : un nouveau coup de pinceau apparaît soudainement, une autre nuance de couleur se révèle, une forme inconnue émerge. Chaque fois que le regard du visiteur se déplace, de nouveaux détails semblent recréer la toile. De cette façon, l'espace pictural de Stoias semble toujours chercher l'équilibre entre le fini et l'inachevé.

Les œuvres d'art que Jot Fau (°1987) présente à la Whitehouse Gallery sont constituées de divers objets, dont chacun est porteur d'une histoire personnelle ou collective. Par exemple, Fau incorpore des photos érotiques de ses amies ou les jambes d'une vieille poupée. Comme Simona Mihaela Stoia, elle est inspirée par la nature et la relation entre l'homme et la nature. Seule Fau va un peu plus loin et fait littéralement entrer la nature dans sa pratique en recouvrant, par exemple, une branche trouvée de cuir ou de velours. Le choix des objets est bien pensé et a un but précis. Les objets traités sont recréés par Fau. Elle leur donne un second sens, un nouveau sens, sans laisser s'effacer leur ancienne histoire et leurs émotions. Ainsi, Fau montre comment les objets du quotidien se transforment, comment ils subissent une métamorphose qui les sort de leur contexte antérieur pour les intégrer à une nouvelle histoire. Elle noue, coud, brode les objets pour en faire un nouvel ensemble, une œuvre d'art. Fau choisit ici délibérément de ne pas cacher le processus de création. Les coutures et les ourlets épais font office de témoins silencieux. Cela donne à ses sculptures un aspect vulnérable et rugueux et il semble que l'on les attrape pendant leur processus en cours. Elles semblent être en plein mouvement, le spectateur étant le témoin de la transformation continue des œuvres d'art.

Astrid Goubert, avril 2022

Groot Park 2, 3360 Lovenjoel
art@whitehousegallery.be
+32 473 391 478
Heures de visite
Ven-Sam-Dim 14h-18h
et sur rendez-vous

-

“And hark! how blithe the throstle sings!
He, too, is no mean preacher:
Come forth into the light of things,
Let Nature be your teacher.

She has a world of ready wealth,
Our minds and hearts to bless—
Spontaneous wisdom breathed by health,
Truth breathed by cheerfulness.”

William Wordsworth, extract from The Tables Turned -

The Tables Turned, the new duo exhibition at Whitehouse Gallery, reflects on the idea of continuous metamorphosis in the state of things. The title refers to William Wordsworth's poem of the same name, in which the poet glorifies nature as its only teacher. The exhibition shows recent work by Simona Mihaela Stoia and Jot Fau. It testifies how both artists incorporate the idea of constant transformation into their work but also take inspiration from nature.

Simona Mihaela Stoia (b. 1982) draws inspiration from all sorts of things. An emotion, a colour, a shape or a walk in the woods stimulate the emergence of an idea in her head. To nourish, preserve and shape this idea, Stoia diligently searches for images and figures that correspond to it. She freely translates this into her paintings, of which Stoia shows a selection at Whitehouse Gallery. Her canvases are characterised by an almost sculptural texture. Stoia achieves this in various ways. She deliberately manipulates her oil paint by leaving tubes open, allowing them to dry out. This manipulation gives the paint a thicker structure and texture. Layer by layer Stoia builds up her canvases. Thin, almost transparent layers alternate with thick, thoughtful or spontaneous brushstrokes. The viewer encounters the same variety in Stoia's use of colour. Although her paintings are bathed in one dominant colour sphere, at a glance they disintegrate into harmonious colour shades. The result is complex paintings whose surfaces seem to be in constant motion: a new brushstroke suddenly appears, another shade of colour reveals itself, and an unknown form emerges. Every time the visitor's eyes shift, new details seem to recreate the canvas. In this way, Stoia's pictorial space always seems to seek the balance between finished and unfinished.

The artworks that Jot Fau (b. 1987) presents at Whitehouse Gallery consist of various objects, each carrying a personal or collective story. Fau, for example, incorporates erotic photos of girlfriends or the legs of an old doll. Like Simona Mihaela Stoia, Fau gets inspired by nature and the relationship between man and nature. Fau even goes a step further and brings nature into her practice by, for example, covering a found branch with leather or velvet. The choice of objects is well thought-out and has a purpose. Each object selected is re-created by Fau. She gives it a second, new meaning, without letting its old history and emotions fade away. As such, Fau shows how everyday things transform, how they undergo a metamorphosis that takes them out of their previous context and makes them part of a new story. She knots, sews, and embroiders the objects into a new whole, a work of art. Fau deliberately opts here not to hide the process of creation. The thick seams and hems function as silent witnesses. This makes her sculptures look vulnerable and rough, and it seems as if one catches them during their process in progress. Her sculptures seem to be in full motion, with the viewer witnessing the artworks' continuous transformation.

Astrid Goubert, April 2022

Chaussée de Charleroi, 54 1060 Brussels
art@whitehousegallery.be
+32 473 391 478
Opening April 2024